Our Motherland-Perm Krai

Our Perm Krai is a federal subject of Russia (a krai) . The city of Perm is the administrative center.

Perm Krai is located in the east of the East European Plain and the western slope of the Middle Ural Mountains. 99.8% of its area is in Europe, 0.2% in Asia.

The Perm Krai borders the Komi Republic in the north, Kirov Oblast in the northwest, the Udmurt Republic in the southwest, the Republic of Bashkortostan in the south, and Sverdlovsk Oblast in the east.

Rivers of Perm Krai belong to the Kama River Basin, the largest tributary of Volga River. There are more than 29,000 rivers in Perm Krai. Two rivers in Perm Krai have lengths exceeding 500 kilometres (310 mi). They are the Kama River at 1,805 kilometres (1,122 mi) and the Chusovaya River, 592 kilometres (368 mi).


Our Krai is rich with minerals, that can be explained its diverse relief in mountainous and flat parts. There are produced: oil, natural gas, gold, diamonds, chromites, peat, limestone, building materials.

In Perm Krai is located Verkhnekamskoye deposit of potassium salts, one of the largest in the world. Its area is approx. 1,800 km² and the thickness of the salt layers reaches 514 m. Forests cover about 71% of Perm krai’s area. Predominant are coniferous forests, percentage of deciduous forests increase from north to south. There are 62 species of mammals, more than 270 species of birds, 39 species of fishes, 6 species of reptile and 9 species of amphibians.

Three nature reserves are located in Perm Krai: Basegi, Vishera, Preduralie